Willard, Gizzi, Wohner & Simensky Headline Skyline Postseason Awards; Nine Mariners Selected To All-Conference Teams

Willard, Gizzi, Wohner & Simensky Headline Skyline Postseason Awards; Nine Mariners Selected To All-Conference Teams

KINGS POINT, N.Y. (May 6, 2019) – On Monday, the Skyline Conference announced the postseason award winners and All-Skyline Teams for women's lacrosse and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy WLAX program had a total of 10 individuals honored – nine student-athletes as well as head coach Kyle Simensky

Senior Meredith Willard (Portland, Maine) was selected by the conference coaches as the Skyline Offensive Player of the Year for the second-consecutive season, while classmate Hannah Gizzi (Finksburg, Md.) earned the conference's Defense Player of the Year award. Freshman Jessie Wohner (Norfolk, Va.) was tabbed as the league's Rookie of the Year and Simensky garnered Skyline Co-Coach of the Year honors, marking the second-straight year that he earned the accolade. 

In addition to the major award winners, nine different Mariner players landed on the All-Conference Teams. Seven were selected to the All-Skyline First Team – Willard, Wohner, Gizzi, seniors Maura Malone (Yorktown, Va.) and Jessica Reilly (Sayville, N.Y.), and freshmen Cara Bebey (Fairfield, Conn.) and Maddie Schmidt (Mechanicsville, Va.) – while junior Grace McHugh (Sturbridge, Mass.) and sophomore Kelly Midas (Clarksville, Md.) earned Second Team selections. 

Willard currently leads the Mariners and the Skyline Conference with 94 points on 65 goals and 29 assists. She has also secured 35 draw controls and gobbled up 32 groundballs, while causing eight turnovers on the year. She was also the 2018 Skyline Offensive Player of the Year as well as a First Team selection, the 2016 Landmark Conference Rookie of the Year and an All-Landmark Second Team selection. She currently sits just four points away from 300 for her career and six points shy of a back-to-back 100-point season. 

Gizzi backstopped the Mariners' defense with conference-best totals in save percentage (.549) and goals against average (5.33). Defensively, she is tied for seventh in the Skyline with 23 caused turnovers, and she has also scooped up 39 groundballs. The senior was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Skyline Conference Championship after leading Merchant Marine to its second-consecutive conference title this past weekend. Gizzi has been named the First Team goalie all four of her years at Kings Point – once in the Landmark and now three times in the Skyline. 

Wohner took the conference by storm in her inaugural collegiate campaign, and enters this weekend's NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Championship with a Skyline-best 69 goals on the season, while ranking fourth in the conference with 83 points. She earned a league-best six Skyline Rookie of the Week honors throughout the year and was even named the league's Player of the Week once. 

Simensky has led the Mariners to a perfect 17-0 record thus far, as they are the last undefeated team left in Division III women's lacrosse. The team ran the table in Skyline Conference action, going 7-0 to earn the top seed in the conference tournament where the Mariners defeated SUNY Maritime in the semifinals and Farmingdale State in the finals to capture their second-straight league crown and trip to the NCAA Tournament. 

Malone earns her second-straight selection to the All-Skyline First Team as a midfielder. She ranks second on the team in draw controls and groundballs, while also ranking fourth in caused turnovers and sixth in points. Back in late March, Malone became the third Mariner to reach the 100-career point milestone. 

This is also the second-consecutive year that Reilly has landed on the First Team as a midfielder. She is second in the Skyline Conference in total groundballs, caused turnovers and draw controls, while also ranking tied for fifth in assists, eighth in points and tied for 10th in goals. She was the 2018 Skyline Defensive Player of the Year. 

Bebey and Schmidt are a part of the Mariner defense that currently ranks fourth in among all NCAA Division III teams in scoring defense, allowing just 4.94 goals per game. Bebey caused 12 turnovers and gobbled up 17 groundballs before a season-ending injury in the final week of the regular season, while Schmidt had 19 CTs, 43 GBs and 32 draw controls and also contributed offensively with 21 goals and 11 assists for 32 points. 

McHugh ranks fourth on the team 50 points, as she has found the back of the net 37 times and dished out 13 assists. She became the fourth Mariner to reach 100 career points in early April. This is her second career selection to the All-Skyline Second Team, as she earned the distinction after her freshman season in 2017. 

Midas earns her first All-Conference Team accolade, as the sophomore midfielder steadily contributed both offensively and defensively throughout the year. She recorded 13 caused turnovers and 21 groundballs to go along with nine points on eight goals and one assist. 

For the complete release from the Skyline Conference, click here

Below is the complete list of the 2019 Skyline Postseason Awards and All-Conference Teams.

Offensive Player of the Year: Meredith Willard, USMMA
Defensive Player of the Year: Hannah Gizzi, USMMA
Rookie of the Year: Jessie Wohner, USMMA
Coaches of the Year: Alyssa Guido, Maritime (first season) and Kyle Simensky, USMMA (seventh season) 

First Team
Krista Deleva, A - Maritime
Courtney Gendels, A - Farmingdale State
Lauryn Gregson, A - St. Joseph's-Long Island
Meredith Willard, A - USMMA
Jessie Wohner, A - USMMA
Maura Malone, M - USMMA
Jessica Reilly, M - USMMA
Nicole Stoppelli, M - St. Joseph's-Long Island
Natasha Treuman, M - Old Westbury
Cara Bebey, D - USMMA
Katherine Buser, D - Maritime
Samantha Caruso, D - St. Joseph's-Long Island
Haley Newburg, D - Farmingdale State
Maddie Schmidt, D - USMMA
Hannah Gizzi, GK - USMMA
Lindsay Ramos, GK - St. Joseph's-Long Island 

Second Team
Courtney Condron, A - Mount Saint Mary
Emma Dell'Aquila, A - Mount Saint Vincent
Grace McHugh, A - USMMA
Jessica Spina, A - Farmingdale State
Gabriella Castles, M - Purchase
Kelly Midas, M - USMMA
Catherine Pfundstein, M - Maritime
Sam Shelton, M - Farmingdale State
Hope Blanc, D - Mount Saint Mary
Kacey Brown, D - Mount Saint Vincent
Yaritza Caraballo, D - Old Westbury
Melanie Tencic, D - Farmingdale State
Esmerelda Hernandez, GK - Maritime 

Receive USMMA Women's Lacrosse News Right To Your E-Mail!
If you would like to receive the latest news on the USMMA women's lacrosse team, including all press releases, send an e-mail to Assistant Athletic Director for Communications Joe Guster at gusterj@usmma.edu with the subject "Women's Lacrosse E-Mails."  

Follow USMMA Athletics On Social Media!
Be sure to follow USMMA Athletics on social media to get up-to-the-minute updates on your favorite teams! Start following today on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTube!