Men’s Swimming & Diving Wins Ninth-Straight Landmark Title!

Men’s Swimming & Diving Wins Ninth-Straight Landmark Title!

Photo taken by Brian Schneider -

Complete Results
Day 1 Recap (Friday)
Day 2 Recap (Saturday)

GERMANTOWN, Md. (Feb. 14, 2016) – For the ninth-straight year, the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy men's swimming & diving team has earned the Landmark Conference Championship! It was also the 18th-straight conference title for the program, with the last 15 years with head coach Sean Tedesco at the reins.

The Mariners scored a total of 891 points over the weekend, which was 252 points ahead of second place Susquehanna.

On the third and final day of the event, USMMA crowned two more individual champions, a Landmark Rookie of the Year, Landmark Diver of the Year and had one swimmer earn an NCAA B-Cut. Freshman Christopher Kahl (Solomons, Md.) took home the Rookie of the Year accolades, as he won the 200 backstroke event with an NCAA Cut time of 1:49.92. Junior Stone Hewitt (Destin, Fla.) was the Mariners' other individual champion, as he took gold in the 200 breaststroke in 2:05.68.

Senior Gerrit Porter (Houston, Texas) was named the conference Diver of the Year for the fourth straight season, sweeping the award for his career. The Mariner coaching staff of Tedesco and diving coach Johan Lopez was also named the Coaching Staff of the Year.

Every championship final can be seen on the Landmark Conference YouTube Channel, along with interviews from Landmark student-athletes throughout the championship weekend. A photo gallery of the entire weekend is also available by clicking here.

These following additional swimmers reached the "A-Finals" of events 31-37:

  • Senior Blair Roberts (South Jordan, Utah) in the 200 backstroke, who finished third with a finals time of 1:54.35.
  • Freshman Logan Propst (Valencia, Calif.) in the 200 back, who finished sixth in 2:00.45.
  • Freshman Matheus Macedo (Elk Grove, Calif.) in the 100 freestyle, who finished fifth with a finals time of 47.75.
  • Junior Karl Sasse (Frederick, Md.) in the 200 breaststroke, who finished third with a finals time of 2:06.22.
  • Junior John Terselic (Tijera, N.M.) in the 200 breast, who finished fourth in 2:07.10.
  • Junior Robert Zagaja (Centerport, N.Y.) in the 200 breast, who finished sixth in 2:15.42.
  • Sophomore Joshua Jepsen (San Diego, Calif.) in the 200 butterfly, who finished third with a finals time of 1:56.34.
  • Sophomore Jordan Weaver (Olive Branch, Miss.) in the 200 fly, who finished sixth in 1:59.69.
  • Senior William Kelsik (New Castle, Ind.) in the 200 fly, who finished seventh in 2:00.76.

Sophomore Andrew Jackson (Chesapeake, Va.) reached the B-Finals in the 100 free and came in 13th place in the finals with a time of 49.56. Additionally, junior Kevin Sweetman (Austin, Texas) finished second in the 1650 freestyle with a time of 16:43.88.

The Mariners won a total of eight events over the three days. They also had three swimmers and a diver make NCAA cuts. Below are USMMA's complete results from Sunday.

Up next, the men's swim & dive team will compete in the Metropolitan Championships next weekend. The event begins on Friday night, Feb. 19, and will last through Sunday, Feb. 21.

Follow USMMA Athletics On Social Media!
Be sure to follow USMMA Athletics on social media to get up-to-the-minute updates on your favorite teams! Start following today on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTube!

Event 29 - M 1650 Free                        
Pl.     Name                              Finals              
2       Kevin Sweetman               16:43.88           
6       Nick Lambson                  17:09.95           
14      Nicholas Fox                    17:32.39           
15      Case Kuikhoven               17:33.29           
Event 31 - M 200 Back                         
Pl.     Name                              Prelims (Pl.)     Finals
1       Christopher Kahl               1:50.62 q  (1)     1:49.92
3       Blair Roberts                    1:55.81 q (2)      1:54.35
6       Logan Propst                   1:59.69 q (5)      2:00.45
Event 33 - M 100 Free                          
Pl.     Name                              Prelims (Pl.)     Finals
5       Matheus Macedo              48.01 q (7)        47.75
13      Andrew Jackson               48.90 q (12)       49.56
         Llorenc Aguiar                  50.76 X
         Ian Reyes                         51.57 X
Event 35 - M 200 Breast                                   
Pl.     Name                              Prelims (Pl.)     Finals
1       Stone Hewitt                    2:07.49 q (3)      2:05.68
3       Karl Sasse                       2:06.93 q (1)      2:06.22
4       John Terselic                    2:10.98 q (4)      2:07.10
6       Robert Zagaja                  2:16.83 q (7)      2:15.42
         Ian Reyes                         X         
         Keigan Thompson            2:15.13 X         
         Bryce Carroll                    2:17.30 X         
Event 37 - M 200 Fly                            
Pl.     Name                              Prelims (Pl.)     Finals
3       Joshua Jepsen                 1:56.41 q (4)      1:56.34
6       Jordan Weaver                 2:00.54 q (7)      1:59.69
7       William Kelsik                   1:55.04 q (2)      2:00.76
            Jack Olsen        2:01.30 X         
Event 41 - M 400 Free Relay                             
Pl.     Name                                                        Finals
3       Macedo, Kelsik, Sasse, Propst                  3:09.76