Text-Only Website
Body Background

Merchant Marine Football Announces Latest Award Winners

2012 USMMA Team MVP Alex Coviello
2012 USMMA Team MVP Alex Coviello

Head Football Coach Mike Toop recently announced the award winners for the 2012-13 academic year as senior captain Alex Coviello (Cape Coral, FL) was named team MVP.  Tyler Washington (Chatham, NY) received the nod as the Hanley-Neagle Defensive MVP award winner and Connor Kennedy (Bellerose, NY) earned Gibson Offensive MVP accolades.  Kenneth Filiaggi (Forest Hill, MD) rounded out the MVP winners with the nod as the Mariners' Special Teams MVP.  

Scott Bartlett (East Islip, NY) claimed the Don Adams Award, which is given to the defensive player who displays the leadership, hustle, and desire that Adams exhibited as an All-America player at Kings Point.  John Witte (Odessa, FL) secured the Dennis Denny Award, which is given in memory of Denny and his courage, work ethic, and great wit.  Stephen Sasso (Phoenix, AZ) was tabbed as the Toner/Perich Team Above Self Award winner while Michael Tobin (Greenwood Lake, NY) received the Michael Ricciardi Scholarship.

The Mariners kick-off the 2013 season inside Brooks Stadium against Susquehanna on September 7 at 2:30 pm.  Fans can view the entire 2013 schedule here: http://usmmasports.com/sports/fball/2013-14/schedule