Four Mariners Named to Fall All-Academic Team

Four Mariners Named to Fall All-Academic Team

Senior Gretchen Holoubeck (cross country), junior Kyle Arestivo (soccer), and sophomores Elizabeth Coulter (cross country), and Nicolas Walsh (cross country) each earned a spot on the Landmark Conference All-Academic team for excelling in their sports and in the classroom.

The Landmark Conference honors the top two male and female student athletes from each Conference institution who are of sophomore standing or higher and have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.

Gretchen Holoubek – Cross Country

Senior, Marine Transportation

Holoubeck was USMMA’s top runner throughout the 2012 season.  In her final meet, she ran the fastest 6K by a female Mariner since 2004 with a time of 24:41.  Holoubek is a Fall Academic Gold Star recipient.

Kyle Arestivo – Soccer

Junior, Logistics and Marine Engineering Systems

Arestivo is a two-year starter for the Academy.  He has scored nine points while starting 25 of 27 games for the Mariners over the past two seasons. This fall, he notched the game-winner against Springfield and tallied two assists against Catholic. Arestivo is also a Fall Academic Gold Star recipient.

Elizabeth Coulter – Cross Country

Sophomore, Marine Engineering Systems

Coulter helped the Merchant Marine improve this season performing week after week as their solid number three runner.  Her time of 27:39 at the highly competitive Paul Short Invitational helped the Mariners improve 10 places from their 2011 performance.  Coulter is a Fall Academic Gold Star recipient.

Nicolas Walsh – Cross Country

Sophomore, Logistics and Intermodal Transportation

Walsh placed 16th overall at the 2012 Landmark Championships with a time of 27:54. He helped USMMA achieve its best ECAC team finish (eighth) in twelve years by placing second on the team and 43rd overall (out of 287) with a time of 27:56. Walsh was the Mariners’ number three runner at NCAA Regionals, running a lifetime best 27:31. He is a Fall 2012 Academic Silver Star recipient.

The Landmark Conference gives these awards at the conclusion of each Fall, Winter, and Spring season.